

CALL FOR PAPERS

MTTS THE 5TH SYMPOSIUM ON MANAGEMENT OF FUTURE MOTORWAY AND URBAN TRAFFIC SYSTEMS 2 0 2 4

SEPTEMBER 4–6, 2024 | ♥ HERAKLION, CRETE, GREECE

SUBMISSIONS:

Call for Papers posted: Dec. 15, 2023 Deadline for extended abstract submission: March 31, 2024

REVIEW:

Abstracts assigned to reviewers: April 7, 2024 Deadline for review: May 15, 2024 Notification of acceptance: June 1, 2024

REGISTRATION:

Early registration opens: June 1, 2024 Early registration deadline: July 1, 2024 Late registration closes: Aug. 1, 2024



Visit website For inquiries or more information, please contact us at mfts2024@technion.ac.il or visit our conference website at https://mfts2024.net.technion.ac.il/

The MFTS 2024 conference will be linked to the Conference in Emerging Technologies in Transportation Systems, which will be held on September 2-4 2024, organized by Prof. Nikolas Geroliminis (EPFL). The two events will be independently organized, one after the other at the same venue, with one joint event on September 4th. Further information can be obtained by accessing the website https://trc-30.epfl.ch/conference/.

The 5th Symposium on Management of Future Motorway and Urban Traffic Systems will be held on September 4-6, 2024, at the Cultural Conference Center of Heraklion, Heraklion, Crete.

Heraklion is the capital of Crete with a strategic location in the southeastern Mediterranean Sea, connecting three continents and many cultures. It is a vibrant city and the commercial and technological center of the island.

MFTS 2024 will focus on future traffic management systems, covering several subjects of traffic flow modeling and control, data-driven and AI-driven methodologies, presence of advanced vehicle communication, and automation technologies. The conference will provide an academic forum for discourse on advanced strategies for motorway and urban traffic control, addressing the complexities of traffic flow models, simulation techniques, and incident management.

MFTS 2024 will gather researchers to explore innovative solutions for enhancing traffic management systems in urban environments, contributing to their efficiency, sustainability, and resilience. It will provide an exciting opportunity for the academic and industrial communities to discuss future research directions of control in transportation systems. The symposium aims to present scientific implementation of cutting-edge technologies in motorway and urban traffic management.

MFTS 2024 will include several sessions, keynote lectures, and social events.

SUBMISSION DETAILS

Submissions are being requested for extended abstracts up to 2000 words until March 31, 2024. The extended abstracts need to provide sufficient empirical, mathematical, or theoretical evidence to allow the reviewers to assess the contribution. Each person attending the conference is allowed to present a maximum of one paper. This means that an author can be co-author in multiple papers, but is not allowed to present more than one paper.

The templates and guidelines are provided on our website (https://mfts2024.net.technion.ac.il/submission/). All submissions must be electronically submitted through the EasyChair conference manuscript management system (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mfts2024).

RESEARCH TOPICS AND AREAS

INCLUDE (BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO)

- Traffic management and coordinated control systems
- Network estimation and control using V2X communication
- Traffic management in the presence of CAVs
- Data-driven traffic control
- AI-driven traffic flow theory
- Traffic flow models for CAVs (micro and macroscopic level)
- Traffic simulation for C-ITS
- Integrated traffic and transit control systems
- Traffic control strategies with active modes
- Flow operations and management during big events
- Incidence management and control
- Multimodal traffic management
 - Advanced urban traffic control with connected technologies
- C-ITS applications in traffic and transport management
- Management of future mobility systems: urban air mobility, shared mobility, alternative transportation modes.



THE 5TH SYMPOSIUM ON MANAGEMENT OF FUTURE MOTORWAY AND URBAN TRAFFIC SYSTEMS 2 0 2 4

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Jack Haddad – Technion (Chair) Shlomo Bekhor - Technion Yoram Shiftan - Technion Tomer Toledo – Technion Yazan Safadi - Technion

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE Konstantinos Ampountolas – University of Thessaly Constantinos Antoniou – Technical University of Munich Nikolaos Bekiaris Liberis – Technical University of Crete Neila Bhouri – Université Gustave Eiffel Klaus Bogenberger – Technical University of Munich Rodrigo Carlson – Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina Oded Cats – TU Delft Hilmi Berk Celikoglu – Technical University of Istanbul **Andy Chow** – City University of Hong Kong Eleni Christofa – University of Massachusetts at Amherst Biagio Ciuffo – Joint Research Centre Giacomo Como – Lund University Giovanni De Nunzio - IFPEN **Iose Ramon Dominguez Freio** – Universidad de Sevilla Nikolas Geroliminis – EPFL Ricardo Giesen – Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile **Jack Haddad** – Technion Andreas Hegyi - TU Delft Wenlong Jin – University of California Irvine Nadir Farhi – Université Gustave Eiffel **Ioannis Kaparias** – University of Southampton Mehdi Keyvan-Ekbatani – University of Canterbury Maria Kontorinaki – University of Malta Tasos Kouvelas – ETH Zurich Balázs Adam Kulcsár – Chalmers University Ludovic Leclerq – Université Gustave Eiffel Carlos Lima Azevedo – DTU Copenhagen **Andreas Malikopoulos** – University of Delaware Michalis Makridis – ETH Zurich Vittorio Marzano – University of Naples Monica Menendez – New York University Abu Dhabi Gábor Orosz – University of Michigan Carolina Osorio – HEC Montréal / Google Ioannis Papamichail – Technical University of Crete Cecilia Pasquale – University of Genova Vincenzo Punzo – University of Naples Mohsen Ramezani – University of Sydney

Marco Rinaldi – TU Delft Claudio Roncoli – Aalto University Meead Saberi – University of New South Wales Samitha Samaranayake – Cornell University Ketan Savla – University of Southern California Francesc Soriguera – Technical University of Catalunya Silvia Siri – University of Genova Jan-Dirk Schmöcker – University of Kyoto Chris Tampère – KU Leuven Tomer Toledo – Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Francesco Viti – University of Luxembourg Meng Wang – TU Dresden

Yibing Wang – Zhejiang University **Eddie Wilson** – University of Bristol Yafeng Yin – University of Michigan

